Stella!

I finally finished this sweater for baby Stella.  She is a few months old, but still petite, so this will be big even now.  It is a Dale of Norway fair isle, knit in the round starting at the bottom with a front steek.  I got up the nerve to sew and cut the steek last week.  I started by steaming the sweater flat, and sewing a double line of stitches down each side, carefully pulling the yarn ends to the opposite side while stitching.

Then, I cut away all the yarn ends

And, bravely cut down the middle between my sewing lines.  No matter how many times I do this, it still makes me a bit nervous:

Next came picking up stitches, knitting the band with a fold-over flap to conceal my cut edge line, and finding the right buttons.  I am very happy with the results.  I hope that the baby gets lots of wear out of it.

I wrapped it up and delivered it today.

 

Project Specs

Pattern: 14206 Yoked Cardigan
Pattern Source: Dale of Norway Book #142
Yarn: Baby Ull by Dale of Norway
Needles: US 1 and US 2
Date Started: 1/5/12
Date Finished: 1/24/12
Finished Dimensions: 12 Month old