Dale of Norway

Dale of Norway classic designs are among my favorite, as I have stated before. I wanted to show a sweater that I put up recently on Ravelry. I really can’t wait to start a new one, I want to do the polar bear sweater (and yes I have the pattern secretly stashed away in a locked place). Just have to finish my Viking Boat sweater first. It is so hot that I have been working only on socks. I need to get another Faroese shawl going to have as a take-along project. Almost finished with my Cleopatra’s socks. The pattern was OK. Did learn a few new things.

This is a sweater that I made a few years ago for my husband’s birthday. It is a classic Dale of Norway design made with Heilo yarn. I made this sweater start to finish—from picking the yarn to having it wrapped up for his birthday (Feb 27th) all in the same month. It was an urban legend at the yarn shop, and my husband was less than impressed with my abilities when he opened it (I think he said something like: “oh, nice”). Time has proven otherwise, as he wears it all of the time, and loves it’s warmth and colors.

I would do the cast on’s differently given a second chance. I did not pick the correct one to work with the corrregated rib. I used the colors reccomended in the book, but changed one of the medium blues to a teal. It adds just that extra bit of punch and pizzaz.

I LOVE Dale of Norway!