Make notes or pay the price

I should know this mantra by now, but it never seems to sink in.  Whenever I start a new project, I am so excited, and have no intention of stopping until I have finished it.  But…there is always a new tempting project out there.  I wish that I could be a monagamous knitter, but that does not seem to be the case.  

So, here I am in North Carolina (accompanying my husband on a business trip), and trying to work on a project that had stalemated since last summer.  I thought for sure that I had brought everything, including my invisible cast-on for double rib instructions.  Now, in a hotel with a day ahead of just touring, and visiting knit shops, and knitting, I decided to get started on the long languishing Forget Me Not sweater by Jojoland.   I saw this sweater at stitches last summer, and while not in the mood to purchase a kit, fell in love with how the yarns knit up in a fair isle pattern.  The yarn is variegated, and you end up with a fabric that looks like it was made with multiple colors instead of just the 2 that are used.  Similar effect that Kauni gives (that yarn is waiting in the wings to be worked on soon).

september-2008009

 

I neglected to even write down what size I had started to make.  Mistake number one.  Then, I know that I did a tubular cast-on for the double rib, and thought that I had used the one from Interweave Knits 2008.  Thank goodness I took photos so that I could document what I was working on.  I have the following that show me using the crochet chain cast-on and then turning it into a double rib.  I am going to work on it this morning so that I can take it out with me in a few minutes.  It is in the mid 60’s (compared to 30’s in Chicago), sunny and a beautiful day.   I even made the boring back first so that I would not get bored with finishing up the sweater after the fair isle front.  

september-20080111september-2008014

I need to develop a project notes sheet that I fill out and keep with each thing I am making.  When I am making socks, I keep a small piece of paper with the needle size, # of stitches cast on, rows knit for each section, etc.  That way, I don’t have to go back and count the rows on the first sock while working on the second.  And the sock structure holds that piece of paper inside it very well.  Now, if I could only count the number of ribs on the photo of the sweater back with my kitten laying on it.