Penguin progress

The penguin sweater is coming along nicely.  I love the colors, especially the mint green with the turquoise.  I was originally thinking of changing that to light blue, and I am glad that I did not.  The feel of the sweater is lovely snow and brightness.  One of those beautiful winter days that makes you happy that you live in a climate with 4 seasons.  Now to sew it up, weave in ends, and crochet the penguin.

dscn1211dscn1210I did not like the decreases used at the yoke (a knit 2tog), all lined up—it shows too clearly for my tastes.  I tried a couple of different ways, and ended up going back to the way that the pattern was written, as the rationale behind it was to keep the zig-zag pattern in line, and it made sense when I was all done knitting.  I am hoping that blocking will even out those bumps so that they are not so noticeable.  

 

 

They show up very clearly on the model in the instructions also.  I love the pattern and colors on this sweater.  I would make one for myself, sans penguin of course.  I wonder how long it would take me to knit up an adult version using the Baby Ull.  It would be so incredibly soft, and not as hot as the Heilo sweaters.   Something to ponder, and add to my knitting list.