And the Heavens opened up…

DSCN1542

Wednesday was the third day in a row of scorching heat, and my house had finally succumbed.  I can keep the coolness in by shutting all the windows, pulling shades, and using fans, for about 2 days.  I had asked my son and husband to try and remove the storm window in the dining room so that we could get our big A/C unit in, but they were unable to get the unit off (it was well caulked).  Last year when we went to install it, we realized that our new, much more efficient storm windows reduced the opening size by just enough to cause the air conditioner to not fit in.  We hobbled along with an old relic that was way too small last year, and I did not want to repeat that. Not to mention that a week of 90’s and 100’s was to come. Well, about 1:00 in the afternoon, the skies darkened, the wind picked up, and I opened the windows hoping to capture all of that cool breeze. Then the rain started, and just as I opened the side door of the house, leaves and branches came flying down the gangway, and I heard a huge crack. I went upstairs to find the carnage shown. Apparently we got about 3.5 inches of rain in about an hour, and winds coming from all directions. At times, the rain was horizontal. Luckily, 3 people had decided to park in front of my house, and I had to park across the street. I was a bit peeved at the time, as they also blocked my sidewalk. Well, underneath the tree in the photos is the car that took my normal parking spot. I bet they won’t be parking there again.
DSCN1552

And, my favorite contractor came to the rescue on Thursday morning to uninstall our storm window and get the monster A/C unit put in place. I rewarded him with an ice cream maker in addition to his fee (well worth it, as it remained hot the rest of the week).