Lizards are finished

The lizard socks are both now finished.  I just need to embroider the toes on them.  I photographed them, and put them in the sink to be washed and blocked.  While I think that they turned out very well, I am less than happy with the variegated yarn that I bought.  I think that I am going to search out hand painted solids that I could have in a multitude of colors.  My European friends have access to Woolmeise, which looks like a truly amazing hand dyed yarn.  Someone has to do this here that I would like.  I have a a couple of options in mind, then I just want to purchase volumes of different colors from the same person so that I do not have the issue of weight differences.

DSCN1750

DSCN1753

I made most of the second pair while my husband drove us to and from Milwaukee to see a special exhibit.  A retrospective on Charles Rohlfs, a furniture designer from Buffalo, New York in the early 1900’s;  and 8 early American masters, many practicing in versions of impressionism.  It was truly a wonderful exhibition, and I would highly reccomend it to anyone.  It is there for 2 more weeks.

img_desk-chairimg_tall-back-chairimg_henri_betalo-nudeimg_lawson_brooklyn-bridge