I’m a small needle & wool snob

I admit it.  I really think that items knit with a small needle have more definition, greater drape to the fabric, and usually (not always) better detail.   I also prefer wool above all else, and wood needles.  So there!

I am just finishing the third of my doily lap blankets.  Using a size 10 1/2 needle was like knitting with baseball bats for me.  Not my preferred option.  I will have to adjust that thinking when I start the Sylvie coat next year though (waiting until January to order the yarn for that, I can’t wait).  The 2nd and 3rd doily lap blankets were made with a lighter weight yarn and size 7 needles.  That seemed so much more civilized to me.  At my  recent visit to stitches in September with my sister, there was a woman demonstrating size 50 (yes 50!) needles, and the merits of them.  Now those really were like baseball bats.  Jill tried them out, but I took a pass.  Size 1 and 2 are more my cup of tea.  I guess that is why I like socks and Fair Isle so much.  Even with mittens, they just seem to need to be knit with the smaller needles to get the proper density to make them wearable in the cold Chicago winters.  And, speaking of mittens, here is my latest pair of Fair Isle mittens, using the Postwar Mittens pattern by MaryAnn Stephens (www.kidsknits.com), and featured on Twist Collective.

DSCN2176

Notice the date on the inside part of the thumb.  I love it….

DSCN2166

The right hand mitten is tight at the hand.  I was working on it while at my SnB group; the lighting was not good, the conversation was lively, and my floats and stitches are tighter than I would like.  Good lesson, keep the knitting simple during those 2 hours.  The length on the cuff is good, will cover my wrists during the cold months.  I had to add one additional repeat on the hand to get the proper length for my big long hands.  I can’t say, however, that I am anxious to wear them.  It has been a beautiful past 3 days with sunshine and 60-70 degree weather, and gorgeous fall color.  My favorite season.