RAK

I joined the Ravelry forum RAK last month.  I have gotten a couple of good patterns there, and this week recieved a gift, all the way from Denmark, of some Dale of Norway Falk yarn.  This is the washable version of Helio.  I have never worked with it before.  (The blue-green at the bottom is a Helio that I had left over)

DSCN2177

I originally thought of making mittens, but decided to make a Christmas stocking instead.  I have wanted to make one for years, and got this pattern book last winter for Dale of Norway yarn:

Book8701xmas

The RAK forum has been fun.  I have sent out several packages all over the world, from Michigan to Canada to India, England and New Zealand.  Also a great way to look and see what others are asking for, and thin out my stash of yarn that I probably won’t use.  I had been saving the sock yarn remnants for years.  Sometimes I use them in a toe, or heel.  But, by and large, was not ever going to knit with all of those, and just couldn’t throw them away.  Along came several people who are make sock yarn blankets out of the scraps, and problem solved.

I am going to make the Stocking pattern on the right, using the yarns shown above.  Will start this over the weekend.  It will also be eligible for the Sock Knitters Anonymous October challenge.  I had not started anything for that yet.