Man Shawl

I am in the hunt for a good “Man Shawl”.  One that my husband can wear while sitting and reading or working on the computer at home.  He always seems to have a cold neck, and I thought that this might be a good solution.  So far, this is all that I have found:

I think that this might not be “manly” enough for my husband.  I could just make a simple garter stitch Faroese type shawl for him out of an undyed wool.  I do have that beautiful wool that I bought from Mimi in California.  I had started a doily lap blanket, but I am going to rip that out. I did not have quite enough, and it does not seem special enough to use with this wool:

This California purchase is so incredibly soft also.  I think that I might have found my answer.  If anyone has a suggestion about pattern, please let me know.