What is this worth?

I donated this baby sweater and hat to a silent auction as a fund-raiser for PING!  PING! is an organization that I started over 10 years ago with a few dear friends.  Our children all played musical instruments in the Elementary and Junior High bands and orchestras.  This town has an amazing instrumental music program, that is constantly nationally recognized, and the former director was the recipient of the first Mr. Holland grant (set-up after the movie).  We all realized that finances were a barrier to participation in the program for many of the kids.   This program loans instruments to needy children in the community.  It grew from 7 kids the first year to a 147 this year!  Hundreds of children have benefited, and a few gone on to study music.

I have given baby sweaters before to auctions, and they have always been well received.  This, though is the most intricate that I have given.  We are going to the benefit tonight, and I might come back home with the sweater.  I cannot let it go for too little.  I love this sweater…