Yarn Swap

Last week I went to my second meeting of The Windy City Knitting Guild.  This group has been around for many years.  In fact, I knew about them when Sofia was little, and it was only a short distance from our apartment in Chicago.  Trouble was, I had a baby, was working full time, and no spare time for something like this.  I am glad that my friend Julia encouraged me to go along with her.  This past meeting was a yarn swap.  Bring something that you are not going to use (knitting related), and swap out.  I brought 10 balls of Rowan Linen drape.  One of my “smart” purchases during a sale at the LYS many years ago, didn’t even have a plan for this.  The swap was incredibly well organized.  You went to a table where they had an elaborate system to weight yarn, and assess a value, then place it on a table with like weights.  You received “money” to purchase from other tables.  Then, groups were called up 10 at a time to purchase.  I was fortunate enough to be in the first group, and had already eyed the books.  Not much of the yarn caught my eye, and Lord knows I already have enough.  I scored these books (and a 4th that I gave to Julia):

A retired library book, the 2nd of the Barbara Walker Treasury of Knitting Patterns.  I have this one in paperback, but the full-color photographs are fun.

A classic Kaffe Fassett book, and signed to boot.

And then this one, which is really fun, from the early 70’s, in case you are having trouble dating it.

I could make a poodle for Lloyd…

I am sure that Dan would look wonderful in this sweater, just have to get him white pants and a turtleneck:

Maybe my new niece will be a Go-go girl:

Any any of a number of options for me or my daughter…

I’ve always wanted a hand knit pants suit:

Maybe not me on this one: