Blog week, Post #7

What a Yarn

There’s one love that we all share: yarn. Blog about a particular yarn you have used in the past or own in your stash, or perhaps one that you covet from afar. If it is a yarn you have used you could show the project that you used it for, perhaps writing a mini ‘review’. Perhaps, instead, you pine for the feel of the almost mythical qiviut? You could explore and research the raw material and manufacturing process if you were feeling investigative.

There are so many amazing yarns out there.  I tend to favor wool, and fingering or lace weight yarns, as I prefer working on small needles.  When I was thinking of this prompt, the question that popped into my head was “What yarn would be the one type that I could take with me on a deserted island?”, a twist on the book question.  I have to go back to my favorite yarn to buy, knit with and keep in my stash—Baby Ull by Dale of Norway.  Dale of Norway has been in business for 130 years.  I could not find any information on when they started producing Baby Ull.  I used Red Heart Baby yarn growing up for my Barbie Doll clothing business, and baby sweaters for friends.  I know that my first experience with Baby Ull was to make a beautiful blue-green sweater with Intarsia rabbits on it for my daughter when I was pregnant (1986).  I was smitten with the softness, brilliant colors, washability, and the wonderful way it knit up.  I have used this yarn for shawls, socks, mittens, baby items, hats, and sweaters for babies and myself.  It is extremely versatile, and makes wonderful Fair Isle patterning.  The colors are beautifully saturated, and vary from year to year.  So consequently, when I find a color I particularly like, I stock up.  Current favorite is a Tangerine color.  This is the only yarn that I refer to so often that I have purchased the color chart so that I am not dependent on the internet color renditions.  I only wish that more retailers would carry this.  I have tried other baby yarns, but the colors are not  as good, and the gauge of the yarn is usually thicker.  I also tend to use this yarn for baby Fair Isle projects, and consequently love to have lots of varied colors on hand, and do not care if there are some single skeins.

Here is a quick tour of past and present projects using this wonderful yarn.

All this posting is reminding me to order more of that Tangerine Baby Ull…

Happy Knitting!

TAGGING CODE: knitcroblo7