Knitting, sheep, yarn and beer

Wisconsin!

I spent the weekend with 2 friends at a cabin in the woods near Sturgeon Bay.  We had a great weekend, the main purpose of which was to attend the Door County Sheperds Market at Whitefish Bay Farm.  

No asking me twice to attend this.  Not jump at the opportunity to be near Lake Michigan, relax and knit for the weekend, take walks on the beach and attend a yarn market?  We had a great time.

The festival was at this beautiful B&B that raises “jacketed” Corriedale sheep.  They wear jackets to keep the fleece clean.  Their booth was my favorite, with the naturally colored yarn.  I would love to stay at that B&B and learn to spin.   That is top on my knitting “to do” list.

I purchased a grey natural Corriedale sheep wool, and the same wool dyed with cochineal bugs.  This is for a pair of stranded mittens:

And then variegated and plain yarn from Goat Hill Farm (75% lambs wool, 25% mohair) for another pair of mittens for my daughter (provided she posts a comment here some day…)

Loved the walks on the beach, the beautiful cottage we stayed in, and all of the yarn.

Of course we all brought our dogs.  That is Amy and Christina, and in the front Lloyd, Truffle and Tank.  Truffle is Lloyd’s new beau, the only animal ever that he has let share his bed.  I think that these 2 tired out senior Tank.

Some of the damages:

I will post tomorrow about the yarn shop in Sturgeon Bay.  That truly deserves it’s own posting.