Spinning Practice and Birthday Cakes

I threw myself a cake and wine birthday party this week with a couple dozen women friends.  My husband was out-of-town on business, and I did not want to be alone on my birthday.  I also needed retribution for the ugly cake from 2 years ago (Bleeding Heart Bakery who puts bad customer service to a new low).  So, I tried a new baker in Oak Park, The Happy Cake.  I had met the owner, Katy, at the Wednesday Oak Park Farmer’s market, and tried her cupcakes there.  I just wanted simple elegance.  The cake was a huge hit–dark chocolate cake with peanut butter, butter cream frosting; cupcakes were lemon with raspberry frosting.  They tasted wonderful.  It was so fun to have a night of women from all parts of my life, lots of knitters included.

And today I am going back to spinning for a few minutes.  Here is my last attempt, getting marginally better:

And, this was in a bag of roving given to me with my spinning wheel purchase.  I am going to practice with all of this….