Best in Show

One of my all-time favorite movies is Best in Show, about the Mayflower Kennel dog show.I can watch that movie over and over, and never get tired of laughing at it.  If you haven’t seen it, and need just a good hearted laugh, watch the movie.  My favorite scene is where the announcer says “Oh my God, that man has 2 left feet”.

The characters are hilarious, all from the makers of Waiting for Guffman.  And, lest you think that the characterizations in the show are a bit over the top, let me assure you that they are not that exagerated.  My son used to take Lloyd to agility class, and when he was 12 wanted to go to the New Years Eve Party with all of his classmates (ages 60 and over), and of course their dogs.  I had warned my husband that the food would be great, but that Best of Show was not exactly fiction.  It was one of those nights that I will always remember, mostly for the visuals and characters.

So, imagine my delight when I found this yesterday:

It is a collection of knitted dogs!  All from knitwear designers Muir and Osborn.  And there is even a book,  Best in Show: Knit Your Own Dog ($16.76 at Amazon) with patterns for a variety of hand-knit dogs.  They have limited edition kits available, and will also do a custom portraiture of your dog if you like.  This book will definately be on my Christmas list.

How can one resist these boxes of knitted dogs?

And, in case you need accessories for any of your pets, from poodles to hamsters, cats, horses, pigs, goldfish, budgies, dogs, tortoises and more; this would be the book for you.