Grandmother’s Knitting

“It’s not really a grandmother’s knitting any more.” This is a recent quote to the media from a yarn store owner.  I am not quite sure why this bothers me so much.  Perhaps because knitting was pretty fantastic prior to this recent surge, albeit not as popular with the general population.  I think that “Grandmother’s Knitting” was pretty advanced.  Think Barbara Walker, Elizabeth Zimmerman, women knitting for soldiers during the Great Wars.  I will take those “Grandmothers” any day over a current hot designer.  That is not to say that there are not some amazing new, young and older designers out there.  I guess what bothers me is the idea that just because you recently discovered something does not mean that quality did not exist prior to your eyes being opened.  Instead of demeaning past efforts, why not embrace them.

So, here is to my Grandmother, yours, and all of the amazing knitters who passed on their knowledge so that I did not have to start from scratch, and can build upon that foundation.

Thanks to my Grandmother, and all the Grandmothers who knit with love, determination, and design.  I hope one day I am appreciated as much.