In addition to giving away knitted gifts…

In addition to giving away knitted gifts for Christmas, I always receive a few of my own in return.  I asked my husband for fiber this year, but it might have been too much of a stretch for him.  He did go on my Amazon wish list however, and bought me this book to help with my new addiction:

I really like the writing style of this book, and the easy reference to the sheep breeds.  I do not feel like I need a degree in animal husbandry to understand what they are saying, and the information seems to be sticking with me.  The photos are all in B&W, but not only does that not deter me from the book, by keeping the color away, it does not influence me in one way or another.  I particularly like the fleece lock samples photographed at full size on a black background.  It seems to make the individual properties of the wool stand out even better.  And it is a good first reference.  I think I would prefer this as a first sheep fiber book over The Knitters Book of Wool.  This book is solely about sheep, fiber and its care and preparation, and a bit about spinning.  No wasted space with patterns that I would not ever use (that was my main criticism of the aforementioned book).

And, we had a stash Holiday exchange at our Stitch ‘n Bitch group.  I scored this beautiful sock yarn by Ty-Dy Socks from Marilyn, I have not used this before, and am going to make a pair of socks for myself with this:

I missed the Holiday gift exchange at the Knitting Guild.  My ride fell through, and I didn’t feel like driving by myself at the last-minute.  I will definitely plan on attending that next year.  I heard that it was a lot of fun.