Worth the Wait

The first of my sock club shipments for this year came yesterday.  I am actually in 2 clubs, but there was a mix-up with my order, I had to stop blaming my crabby mailman.  They were suppose to ship together, but will instead some separately.  The Illuminations (Janel Laidman, designer) shipment came yesterday, there were 3 color options (brights, earthy, contrast) that you could choose for the year, and I decide to let it be a surprise each month.  I was really really happy when I opened this month and saw that I had gotten the bright option, as I love the green and blue together.  The yarn is Staccato Sock by Shibui, a superwash with 65% merino, 30% silk and 5% nylon.  It is so incredibly soft and squishy in the hank that I am not anxious to wind it into balls until the moment I need it.   The gauge is a fine fingering, which I prefer, especially for colorwork.  I will be making the socks with the bird pattern, not the leaf.

And, because my shipment had been messed up, Janel sent along an extra surprise:

This is the oft-mentioned Skinny Bugga yarn.  I have never tried it, and in my favorite color to boot!  This one is  80% superwash merino, 10% cashmere and 10% nylon.  Color is Northern Purple Golden Beetle.

The fun part of these clubs is that the yarn is from a different indy-dyer each month, so I will get to try out lots of yarn and not be committed to just one brand. Fiber related deliveries are coming all week.  Tomorrow I will show some spinning fiber that came on Saturday.