Modern Mitered Mittens

I was given 2 skeins of Noro yarn recently.  While I was intrigued by this yarn when it first came out, and even made a shrug and a sweater out of it many years ago, and although I like and still wear those projects, this is not a yarn I would purchase today.  Many new knitters love this, as it makes a simple pattern look more interesting, although there are a lot of manufacturer’s putting out long repeat yarns now that did not exist a few years ago.  The yarn is weak (easily pulls apart), and can be scratchy.  Wanting to make something out of this yarn, I searched on Ravelry, where the new search engine lets you put in the type of yarn, yardage, and what you are looking to make (sweaters, accessories, etc.).  The Mitered Mitt pattern which blogger Kathryn Ivy wrote about adapting, and using Noro yarn was the perfect pattern for me and my 2 skeins.  The original mitered mitt was published in the Knitter’s Almanac by Elizabeth Zimmerman, May project.  I had to check this book out of the library, I can’t believe that I did not own it, I am sure my husband feels the same way if you saw my knitting library.  Perhaps it is in there somewhere, I am famous for purchasing books that I already own.

This book gives pithy directions for a variety of projects, one every month.    I adapted my mitered mittens to work for modern-day living of needing to unlock cars with a press key, text (not me for those of you who know me), and access that appendage that sets us apart.  I am giving these to my friend Theresa, just have to show them at knitting tomorrow night.  I made the gloves very long, so they would tuck into your coat and keep wrists warm.  I also used a size 3 needle versus the size 6 used in the aforementioned blog post.  The density of the fabric appealed to me, and  I had a bit of trial and error to find out what worked best.

Project Specs
Pattern: Mitered Mittens
Pattern Source: Knitter’s Almanac by Elizabeth Zimmermann
Yarn: Noro Silk Garden #249, 2 skeins (220 yards, with a small amount left over)
Needles: US 3 DPNs
Date Started: 2/12/11
Date Finished: 3/6/11
Finished Dimensions: 13 1/2” inches long

They did a pretty good job of matching up.  And the texting thumb:

And it snowed again yesterday.  Cold all week, and I need spring.  A bit for each room of the house: