On Point

The Resurgence Of Knitting

In the age of high-tech and ready-made, old-fashioned knitting is making a comeback via social media. We’ll ask why.


This interview was conducted on the radio program On Point on February 15th, 2011.  I just now got around to listening to it.  Susan Strawn is a fellow Oak Parker, author of Knitting America (one of my favorite books), and a member of our Stitch ‘n Bitch group.  Franklin Habit is the blogger The Panopticon, and a fellow member of the Windy City Knitting Guild.  It was a great interview to listen to while knitting and spinning.

Knitting has definitely had a resurgence in the last 10-15 years.  I no longer get strange looks for knitting in public, have many resources to choose from, groups to knit with, and knitting friends that did not exist years ago.  Not to mention Ravelry.  The interviewees – included are a sheep farmer, artist yarn bomber, and email and phone in comments – do a great job explaining the many different reasons why knitting is now so popular and the plethora of reasons why people have gravitated back to knitting.  Tom Ashbrook, the interviewer, brings the divergent viewpoints together, and creates a very lively discussion.  Even though he is not a knitter, he did grow up on a farm with sheep, and has done a fabulous job of having enough knowledge about the subject to conduct a great interview.

Postscript:  I did not initially read the comments posted by many listeners on the website.  Many took offense at his use, apparently multiple times, of the phrase “Knitting, of all things”.  I must say, that really did not register with me, nor irk me.  Neither did the fact that this is being talked about today, a few commenters felt that it was overdue.  I do think that social media has changed the way we knit, and that Ravelry has had the largest effect.  Myself, it has made my knitting queue far longer than I will ever be able to accomplish.