Keeping my hands busy

My son called me this morning from Japan.  I had not heard from him since Monday, and yesterday I was escalating.  Whenever anyone called to ask how he was, I responded that I did not want to talk about it.  I finally realized that I was way too crabby, so I took a nap, and then drove into the city to go to the monthly meeting of the Chicago knitting guild, The Windy City Knitting Guild.  That was the best distraction that I could have had.  Saw a presentation on designing knitwear which gave me great ideas, made a new friend who was there for the first time who had immigrated to this country 9 years ago from Romania, presented my Japanese Feather and Fan Shawl at the show and share portion, and got great support from fellow knitters.

Currently I am working on my Dawnsinger socks from the Janel Laidman Illuminations sock club.  They are very fun, although I could not work on the color-work portion unless I was focused.   I made some minor adjustments which I will blog about tomorrow.