Eiki

Eiki, the Japanese word for strength.  This pattern is being offered by Janel Liadman as a fundraiser for Japan through the end of April.  All proceeds to go to the Red Cross relief effort and Doctors without Borders.  I purchased this and am knitting it with some yarn that I got yesterday at another of Lorna’s Laces warehouse sales.

This is 8 skeins of their sock yarn, in a color called Whitewater.  I got 8 skeins, as it was in large bags to be taken all together at a reduced rate.  I love the blue, teal and white together, colors of clean calm water.  Whatever I don’t use for the shawl would make some beautiful socks.  The majority of the shawl is a garter stitch, and it is moving along quickly.

Other designers are offering patterns, and some shops a portion of the sales, as donations to relief efforts in Japan.  An entire site on Ravelry is dedicated to channeling help to Japan.

My son is safely home, sleeping and trying to figure out what to do next.  As I knit this, I am sending positive thoughts to the people of Japan.  As the media moves on to the next crisis, this country still needs our prayers and help.