New Skill – 2KCBWDAY2

Day Two: 29th March. Skill + 1UP.

Look back over your last year of projects and compare where you are in terms of skill and knowledge of your craft to this time last year. Have you learned any new skills or forms of knitting/crochet (can you crochet cable stitches now where you didn’t even know such things existed last year? Have you recently put a foot in the tiled world of entrelac? Had you even picked up a pair of needles or crochet hook this time last year?

This one is easy:

SPINNING, SPINNING, SPINNING!

I learned how to spin in September, bought myself a used Ashford Traditional the same weekend for my birthday, and have been having fun ever since.

I have a new-found appreciation for wool, and all fibers.  It is no longer just asking if yarn or fiber is wool, but what sheep, where was it raised, is it blended with any other fibers.  My husband went with me to the Wisconsin Sheep and Wool Festival last Fall, and is looking forward to attending others.  He is intrigued by the yarn spinning and the differences in the sheep.

The biggest problem that I have had with spinning my own yarn is finding patterns that I deem worthy enough for my beautiful yarn, and also of the yardage that I can actually use it.  I actually knit an entire shawl with the purple/green yarn shown below, and then I ripped it out, as I deemed the pattern unfit for my handspun.  If I had made it with a commercial yarn, I would have simply kept it.

I am attending a spinning retreat with Jacey Boggs in a couple of weeks.  This will be my first class since my initial introduction, and I am really looking forward to learning from all of the other people there.  Next will be a drum carder and learning how to dye yarn myself.  And of course, a traveling wheel…