Neat and Tidy – 2KCBWDAY3

Day Three: 30th March. Tidy mind, tidy stitches

How do you keep your yarn wrangling organized? It seems like an easy to answer question at first, but in fact organization exists on many levels. Maybe you are truly not organized at all, in which case I am personally daring you to try and photograph your stash in whatever locations you can find the individual skeins. However, if you are organized, blog about an aspect of that organization process, whether that be a particularly neat and tidy knitting bag, a decorative display of your crochet hooks, your organized stash or your project and stash pages on Ravelry.

Well, let me just start by saying that I am a Virgo in the classic sense.  Organization is paramount to me, even though I have periods of feeling out of control.  As a child, my closet was organized alphabetically, and then within the particular sections (blouse, pants, skirts, etc.) I had items arranged by the color of the rainbow.  I have eased up a bit since then, but still love an organized space.  Some of my friends may beg to differ, as chaos seems to periodically take over my house.

Our house had been an empty nester, until my son had to unexpectedly return from Japan.  I had taken the basement room that has been the designated study room for years as my knitting room.  I was just starting to get it all organized, when we scheduled interior drainage system for the entire basement.  So, the room has to be taken apart again, and I will have to restock my yarn armoire.  But, the good side will be, no more danger of basement flooding, and while I have to put new baseboards back on, a storage cabinet and additional closet that have been in my mind for the family room portion will be crafted.

I was going to wait for the grand unveiling, but here is a peek at what will be coming.  I see this as an inspiration and design space more so than an actual knitting or spinning space.

First I have a large corkboard with shaker pegs covering the upper part of one wall.  I found these great rolls of cork 4′ high, and whatever length you need.  The shaker pegs are a leftover from a previous job, all framed with other oak remnants from work done on the house.   It is not really set up yet, as we knew everything would have to just come down again:

And I moved a vintage china cabinet that I had refinished years ago into the space to hold my yarn.  This is my sock and baby yarn stash:

And, of course there will be a bookshelf to try and corral most of my knitting books into one location.  It will be bigger than this, and fill most of this wall:

Just outside my knitting room, is the old card catalog from my kids elementary school.  This has my needles in it, a different drawer for each size.  I have some issues with storage in this which I will be addressing soon.