Where is my Sweater? -2KCBWDAY4

Day Four: 31st March. Where are they now?

Whatever happened to your __________?

Write about the fate of a past knitting project. Whether it be something that you crocheted or knitted for yourself or to give to another person. An item that lives with you or something which you sent off to charity.

There are a lot of different aspects to look at when looking back at a knitting project and it can make for interesting blogging, as much of the time we blog about items recently completed, new and freshly completed. It is not so often that we look back at what has happened to these items after they have been around for a while.

How has one of your past knits lived up to wear. Maybe an item has become lost. Maybe you spent weeks knitting your giant-footed dad a pair of socks in bright pink and green stripes which the then ‘lost’. If you have knit items to donate to a good cause, you could reflect on the was in which you hope that item is still doing good for it’s owner or the cause it was made to support.

I want to write about my favorite sweater, the one that I splurged on the yarn for and bought wool and qiviut to make a beautiful natural gray cabled sweater.  For the uninitiated, Qiviut is the downy fiber from the underbelly of the musk ox, hard to obtain, and as precious (and expensive) as gold. It was so light, yet incredibly warm.  I took it on travels, in fact finished it just in time to take on the plane to Australia several years back.  This was pre-blogging, so I have no photos of my beauty.  It packed so nicely and compactly.  It was my go-to sweater.  And I do not know where it went to.  The last I can remember, I wore it on a trip to NYC in December 2009.  Worked great as an extra layer under my coat.  I was sure that it came back with me,  and I thought that I wore it also to an SnB meeting a few weeks later.  Then gone.

Qiviut has been described in an article here as “finer than cashmere, warmer than wool, and a joy to work with.” I can attest to all that.  Manning had offered to talk me out of the expensive purchase at Stitches one year, and I declined the offer and purchased the yarn.  Now, I want to buy the same yarn again to make another beautiful sweater.

Thanks to Ravelry, I found the manufacturer, Rovings of Canada, but alas the Qiviut yarn has been discontinued.