Spring Magnolia

My backyard magnolia.  Even though it looks the same from year to year, I cannot resist taking photos of it.

I usually have a magnolia party on a warm evening to celebrate this magnificent tree.  This year, I have been having construction done on the house, and every thing has been too messy or chaotic.  If you live in the neighborhood, stop on by and enjoy the beauty of the tree.  I wish that I could also capture the wonderful smell.

On the knitting front, I have been working on the PB & J socks by CookieA, this is my third start on the pattern.  The first time, I did not read the instructions correctly.  The second time, even though I made the medium size, it was 80 sts/round.  I thought it would pull in more with the traveling stitches, but based on my experience and the comments on Ravelry, others thought it ran very big also.  The test knitter must have been a very tight knitter.  I finally got in the groove of this.  I hope that the foot length will be long enough with the size reduction, as I really don’t want to give these away.

Last week was crazy: construction at my house (more about that later), an event at the Community College where we had to have Architecture activities for 162 middle school students (we bit off a big project, but it was very well received), and the local Kitchen Walk where we had this lovely kitchen featured (designed by JoBeth), it was deemed a great hit by all.  This is the part of my life that takes me away from knitting and spinning.  More of our work can be found HERE.