Happy Mother’s Day!

Happy Mother’s Day to all the mothers (official or unofficial) out there who help take care of our children.

I need to thank my own mother, both for raising 10 (yes you are reading that double-digit number correctly) independent, smart, sensitive, compassionate and successful children.  And by extension, some really amazing grand children (2 of whom I am most partial to).  My mother taught me how to knit, crochet and sew.  She worked as a young bride and mother demoing a Necchi sewing machine so that she could earn one for her own use.  The first 6 children were all girls, and she would use that sewing machine to make us matching outfits, replete with rick-rack and embroidered designs.  I wish that I had a photo of all of us lined up together on the farm.  I remember sewing Barbie clothes on that machine, actually I think the first items that I sewed, and later clothes for myself in high school.  We didn’t have a lot of money, and I used my sewing to make the outfits that I could not afford otherwise.  And, she went with me to the store to purchase my first, and still main, sewing machine to take with me to college.

She also taught me how to tie my shoes.  We won’t talk about that— she is left-handed and I am right-handed.  Apparently I was her only experiment, my dad was left to teach all the others.  To this day people snicker when I tie my shoes, and they never seem to stay tied unless I double knot them.  How many grown people still have to double knot their shoes?

But, her biggest gift was teaching me how to knit.  Remember we had different dominant hands, and she was of German heritage.  I knit continental in a most unique and very fast fashion.  That fortunately was a success where the shoe tying was not.  Out of all those girls, I was the only one who took an active interest in sewing and knitting.  When I could not go to school in Junior High, she set me up at a local craft cooperative (which is still in business by the way), and got me selling knitted Barbie Doll clothes.  This blog should really be dedicated to her.  Without her input and encouragement, I am not sure that I would have this wonderful hobby and skill to write about here.  Thanks Mom!

Photos from Mom’s 80th birthday in 2008 (notice Lloyd in the kids photo), wearing a shawl by yours truly:

Myself, I had both Sofia and Ethan home for Mother’s Day today for the first time in 8 years.  One or the other was always away at school.  It was bitter sweet, as Ethan should have really been in Japan today.  Now he is on his way up to school to figure out what to do for the summer.  I have great kids!