JuDee, JuDee, JuDee

I gave this shawl that name, as I started working on it on the train to Michigan to visit Judy, and finished on our drive back from Mackinac Island.  This pattern, Haruni,  has been in my queue for quite some time.  I loved knitting it, and the end result.  I added one set of repeats onto the pattern.  As you may know, I am not a fan of the “Shawlette”.  I wish that I had enough yarn to add more, but I weighed the yarn out to make sure that I had roughly 1/2 the skein to finish the border.  I even put in a lifeline to assure that if I had to rip back, it would not be a problem, and I ended up with very little yarn left.   I used Anne Yarn by Shaefer, which has a bit of mohair in it and gives a nice halo effect to the shawl.  I really liked this yarn, so much that I bought another skein while in Michigan.

Even my husband commented last night on how beautiful this was.  While I was making it, I swear that every person told me that this color was one of their favorites.  Apparently it is a universal color that looks good on many people.

In progress:

And blocked, I am always amazed at what blocking can do.  I really wish that I had a mannequin, and a foot mannequin, to model my projects.  My family thinks that it is a joke when I ask for that for my birthday and Holidays.

Project Specs
Pattern: Haruni Shawl
Pattern Source: Free pattern on Ravelry from Emily Ross
Yarn: Shaefer’s Anne; Color Bluebell, 560 yards
Needles: US 4 circular
Date Started: 6/3/11
Date Finished: 6/10/11
Finished Dimensions: 40″ wingspan, Nape of neck to back 23″

My next Anne yarn waiting for a shawl pattern:

And, I swear, the last of the Mackinac Island photos.  If you have never been there, make a point of visiting one day, and staying overnight.