Midwest Fiber and Folk review

I attended all 3 days of the Midwest Fiber and Folk Festival.  I had a 1/2 day class each day with Abby Franquemont.

Friday I went out with Manning and Anne Marie for the entire day.  I shopped in the morning, and had a “Wheel Basics” class in the afternoon.    I signed up for this a few months ago, and when I went recently to look at the description, realized that this might be too basic for even me.  It was a fun class, reinforced that I am doing quite well, and at the end we rotated wheels so I got to try out several different versions.  Maybe it is because I am just used to my wheel, but I concluded that I really like my Joy.  This class I probably could have skipped and taken something else instead.

Saturday and Sunday I went out with Jeanne (a fellow SnB’er who has yet to make a meeting).  It was great to have someone to drive out with (an hour each way), and talk knitting and spinning.  I took a class on plying.  That was good (except that I forgot my Lazy Kate).  We did 2-ply, 3-ply, Navajo Ply, Andean Ply, and cable plying.  I was not real successful with the Navajo plying, even though I have done a good job of it at home.  Need more practice.

Here is the 3-ply, the blue yarn is much thicker.  A left-over from my weekend spinning retreat with Jacey Boggs

And my cable plying.  I am not sure when I would use this, perhaps for sturdy mittens or outerwear.  I will say that when we cabled plyed some linen wool the 3rd day, it became much softer.  I will have to try a simple knitting project with this.  The process it to have two 2-plys that you then ply together in the singles spinning direction (in this case clock-wise).

And the 3rd day class was on blended fibers.  My favorite by far.  We got to try out a wide variety of fibers from wools to silk to alpaca to linen, all in different types of blending.  I now want a drum carder.  If anyone is interested this is the one I covet.  Here are the singles taken off the bobbin, I probably could not tell you what any particular section was, and they are twisting back on themselves because they were not plyed.  I have them washing now, and will see if they relax at all.

The Festival this year had an amazing line-up of teachers.  I could have taken more classes even.  The market was really good (I will show all of my purchases tomorrow).  Two years ago, my husband and I had driven out to this Festival (different location), and listened to music and walked through the market.  At that time there had been no classes that I was interested in taking, the market was underwhelming (very crafty, there was nothing that I wanted to buy), but the food and music were good.  This year the market was very good, not as big as the Wisconsin Sheep and Wool Festival, but lots of interesting and tempting items.  The only thing that I saw missing was good woodwork items related to knitting and spinning.  I guess that I will have to wait for Wisconsin for that.  The food and music however, were not as good.  Only 2 greasy meat-oriented vendors, and one tiny stage set up with music with the audience situated a ways away.

No animals at this market, except bunnies.  Here is one being hand clipped, which they apparently love.

And another photo of Abby.  You may know that I am not a particular fan of tattoos, but this was really fun, and appropriate for her.  A skull and crossbones, the crossbones are spindles, and the eyes of the skull have balls of yarn.  Great teacher by the way.