Jubilee

Project Specs
Pattern: Jubilee Socks
Pattern Source: CookieA Sock Club; June 2011
Yarn: Plymouth Sockatta, 414 yards
Needles: US 1 DPN’s
Date Started: 6/10/11
Date Finished: 7/1/11
Finished Dimensions: Size Large Women’s

This was a very simple pattern, but the socks seemed to drag on for me.  I think that it is because I was not happy with the yarn.  First, I am not a fan of self-striping sock yarns (this was picked out by a friend), secondly, this yarn was not very subtle.  When I was working on it, people would say how pretty it was, then when they felt it the common response was “Oh…”  I definitely would not buy this again.  The pattern however was very easy to knit and would work with a highly variegated yarn, I am thinking some of the Koigu that I have stashed away.  Once again, the sizing is very generous.  This is a M, for a large foot, and there is plenty of ease in it.

Yarn in the skein.  I thought it would be more peppered with color than striping.  I should have looked more closely.  Luckily it worked out with the pattern.

This sock club also comes with 2 cookie recipes.  This shipment had Madelines as one of the recipes.  I do not think that I have ever had them, let alone made them.  I had to buy a special pan to bake them in.  I am hooked.  Light orange flavor, they are so yummy.