Getaway

There is no better place to get away from all the hubub of daily life than a few days on Mackinac Island.

Lots of relaxation, and good food with the family:

Relaxing on the front porch of our hotel gave me ample opportunity for knitting and reading.  I made great progress on my cape, although I have almost run out of yarn.  This was a kit, and was suppose to have enough yarn for the large size.  The yarn is not available for purchase in individual skeins.  I was able to score a ball of yarn from someone on Ravelry who had previously finished a kit.  Like all Hanne patterns, this is a marathon amount of knitting.  Not for someone who detests lots of garter stitch.  Her patterns are very precise, but I find myself rereading them over and over again.  The translations are not very clear.

My Orange Pekoe socks from the CookieA sock club were finished up on the drive home.  The pattern was a very quick knit, and I enjoyed working with the Hazel Knits yarn.

Project Specs
Pattern: Orange Pekoe Socks
Pattern Source: CookieA Sock Club; June 2011
Yarn: Hazel Knits Artisan Sock Yarn, 400 yards
Needles: US 1 DPN’s
Date Started: 6/25/11
Date Finished: 7/23/11
Finished Dimensions: Size Medium Women’s