Spinning Inspiration

I  finally finished plying my Merino spun roving from Expertly Dyed.  The color is Mediterranean, and I ended up with 620 yards of 2-ply from a 4 oz braid.  This is really pretty, and when I proudly showed it to a friend the other day, she commented that it looked like the colors of the Mediterranean.  I guess they dyer got it right.  I am thinking of ordering another braid so that I can have enough yardage to knit this up into a large shawl.

A Ravelry group called Completely Twisted & Arbitrary Spin-Along features a different Indy dyer every month.  Photos are submitted under a chosen topic for inspiration, and then the dyer chooses the top one or two to make rovings from.  August was gardens, and a photo of a Peacock and a Coral Reef led to these 2 rovings from Fiber Optic.  Of course, hearing about this from one of my favorite dyers, I had to get a couple of each (and another reason why I did not purchase anything from her booth at Stitches).  The Coral Reef is really very bright, I will have to think about that one some more, and what I would like to use the finished yarn for.

Peacock was a surprise to me, as it looked more uniform and purple in the photos, so I was surprised by the variations of blue/purple/white and the subtleties.  This one I am anxious to spin up.  None of the photos that I took of this really did it justice.

Now that I seem to have some proficiency at spinning, I am going to try to plan what I want to knit with my hand spun before I start spinning, and even sometimes before I purchase it.  I have quite the large basket now of handspun that I need to knit up.  Many of the yarns are a bit bulkier, and the quantities are not as large.  I am thinking of starting on a marathon hat and mitten knitting fest to use those up.