Baby Booties & Spinning

I finished up these baby booties last Saturday while driving to and from the Milwaukee Art Museum.  We went for the day to see the China exhibit, which friends had raved about.  It was good, but I wish that I had not made a special trip – did not live up to the hype, and I thought that the curation could have used some help.  The informative placards were not well-lit, and often in hard to reach or obscure places.  The exhibit did not do a good job of explaining the entire history behind the gardens that were on display.  Perhaps we would have enjoyed it more if we had taken an audio tour.  Oh well, at least I finished these:

Project Specs
Pattern: Saartje’s Booties
Pattern Source: free from Saartje Knits
Yarn: Dale of Norway Baby Ul, dark pink and lt green
Needles: US 1 DPN’s
Date Started: 9/3/11
Date Finished: 9/3/11
Finished Dimensions: Size Newborn large

I promised the parents a sweater also, but am waiting to see if the sex is correct.  They had an ultrasound, and think that it is a girl, but those are not known to be a perfect indicator.  So, when the baby is born, I will make an appropriate sweater, but felt I needed to gift something in the meantime.

I also am in a desperate race to clear up some spinning bobbins to take with me to the Wisconsin Sheep & Wool Festival, which is this weekend.  This yarn was plyed together yesterday, Jade from Fiber Optic, 85% BFL and 15% silk.  475 yards of 2-ply.

This was the braid, which I had shown previously: