Wisconsin Sheep

My husband and I went to Wisconsin last weekend for the Wisconsin Sheep & Wool Festival.  It did not disappoint at all.  I took 2 classes from Kate Larson, Woolen or worsted and Spinning 3 Leicesters.  I loved both classes, Kate is a fabulous teacher whom I would highly recommend to take classes from.  Not only did I finally learn how to really spin woolen vs worsted (twist in the draft zone or not), but I learned all about the Leicester sheep breed, and how to flick locks, and hand card.  I was so excited that I bought myself a pair of hand carders after the Friday class, and put them to work on Saturday.

I was having so much fun in my classes that I forgot to take photos except for this one.  Even though I have only been spinning for a year, I was quite pleased with how my spinning held up next to others in the class.  Here are some of the market photos:

I did a bit of shopping at the market, but this is what I am still drooling over.  Unfortunately, it had a SOLD sign on it when I walked by on Saturday.  There still is a cherry version, that would actually fit perfectly in my house.  I just need to convince my husband that I need to upgrade to this and trade in my Traditional.  My dream, a handmade Jensen wheel:

 It spun like a dream…

I did pick up some fiber, and 2 books—one I had been on the lookout for, and one surprise.

First, from Carol at Rivers Edge Fiber Arts Studio.  Now that I can spin, I am excited tp purchase her fiber.  She is the one who went to HS with my dear sister Marilyn, and remembered her.  Marilyn left too soon, and it is so special to find someone who knew her.  This is 60% superwash merino, 30% bamboo and 10% nylon.  Destined to become a pair of socks for myself.

And some 1 oz balls of natural CVM (Califonia Variegated Mutant) roving.  One of the rarest of sheep in the United States, the California Variegated Mutant is the multi-colored derivative of the Romeldale Breed (Romeldales were first developed in California in the early 1900’s by crossing Rambouillet ewes with Romney rams; CVM development began in the 1960’s).

Some muffins of mohair and silk from Circle Studio of Oregon, WI.  No website listed, but the back of the business card reads:  “To know a goat is to love a goat”.  I wish that I had purchased more of these when I saw them the first day, as they were all gone when I went back on Saturday:

And these 2 balls of roving dyed with natural dyes from Handspun by Stefania.  Dan picked the green for a pair of mittens and a hat for himself.  The brighter colors are for me.   This is Coopworth dyed with Osage and Indigo

And, Corriedale & Silk dyed with Madder and Weld (?)

And sheep of course…