Wisconsin Part 2

More sheep to show…
We also watched the Shetland Sheep judging again.  I just love those little guys, and all the natural variation.  Hard to beat centuries of breeding for endurance.  At one time they were almost extinct, as people wanted just the pure white sheep, and the longer, softer staple.  Nothing like a Shetland wool for Fair Isle knitting.
The same talented Sheep Shearer from last year was there demonstrating his craft.  It is truly amazing how the sheep lay calmly when flopped on their backs.
And of course, the sheep dog trials, which are fascinating to watch.  Apparently many of the best dogs were already on their way to Colorado for the national trials, but it was still fun to watch.  The really well-trained dogs respond with simple whistles to go right, left or down.
I bought 2 books, one that I had been searching for all year, Janel Laidman’s first sock book.  It is out of print, and online they are jacking up the price.  Found it at a vendor at the fair.
And I found this fascinating book on Estonian mittens.  This must be the year of Estonia, as it is my second beautiful book from that country in less than a month.
I leave you with more sheep.