Team Judy

On Saturday I participated in the Michigan Chapter of the ALS fundraising walk (here is a video link).  This was in honor of my dear friend Judy.  We have been best friends for over 30 years.  We lived together in college, I was her Maid of Honor, she and her husband supported me in Chicago as I struggled to find my first job, we had Children at the same time, and have shared common experiences over most of our adult life. Last January, Judy got the positive diagnosis of ALS, commonly known as Lou Gehrig’s Disease.  A devastating illness that slowly robs the body of muscle control, and has no cure.  Saturday was a day of celebration and hope.  Judy had over 100 people there walking for her team, she raised over $15,000 (I was second highest in pledges thanks to all my friends and family), and she was surrounded by love and support.

My respect for Judy’s fight in this is huge.  I have been struggling with a head cold for 2 days, and find it hard to get things done.  Judy fights every morning to get out of bed, get dressed and eat.  It is so hard to watch one of the most vibrant, energetic people I have known succumb to this disease.  We still find ways to laugh every day and appreciate the good things in life—kittens, chocolate, wine (kind of in that order too).  The love and support of my friends and family has buoyed me as I try to provide Judy and Bob with as much support as I can muster.  We will all need your continued prayers and support as time goes on.  The disease is taking parts of her away quicker than anyone would have predicted, though thanks to technology and Apple, she has a voice activated software program that has enabled communication.

Judy felt the love and support on Saturday as did I (Lloyd even walked!).  Many of the people on the walk were from Judy’s choir, the award-winning Detroit Concert Choir, and at the end of the walk they sang a beautiful rendition of the Irish Blessing song:

May the road rise to meet you,
May the wind be always at your back.
May the sun shine warm upon your face,
The rains fall soft upon your fields.
And until we meet again,
May God hold you in the palm of his hand.

You can still donate if you wish.  The link to my page is here.