Coast to Coast

I started this shawl in California a few weeks ago, and got all of the body done there.  It was then put away until a DC trip this past weekend, and I finished the border.  Now to just weave in the ends and wash and block.  The yarn is my own handspun from Fiber Optic, called Peacock.

It all started like this:

I tried splitting the braid down the middle, and while that was not hugely successful, I wish that I had done fractional spinning to split the colors up more:

The richness of the blues and purples is so amazing.  I am anxious to see how it blocks out.

And, some of the weekend highlights which included a tour by our friend Paul with a lot of the history and stories behind the memorials:

In spite of the controversy surrounding it, I liked the MLK memorial:

But by far, our favorite was the Roosevelt memorial.  Very moving, and great quotes.  I think all politicians should go over daily and contemplate them:

Julia Child’s kitchen from the Smithsonian:

The National Cathedral was closed.  The earthquake apparently damaged the towers, and the attempted repairs caused even more damage when the cranes fell down on the church.  I was disappointed not to see this.

“No country, however rich, can afford the waste of its human resources.  Demoralization caused by vast unemployment is our greatest extravagance. Morally, it is the greatest menace to our social order.” 

   -FDR