Greencastle

On Saturday Andi and I drove to Greencastle, Indiana for the The Fiber Event at Greencastle.  It was my first time going, and I was luckily able to get Andi to accompany me.  It was about a 3 hour drive each way, so not too bad.  We had a great time, lots of good things to see at the vendors, so we did one long pass through without purchasing anything, and then narrowed our choices down to return and buy what really caught our eye.  But first, there was a wee bit of animal time:

I chose not to purchase any yarn, but get fiber that I felt was unique and I could not find elsewhere.  Hands down, this fiber caught my eye and I knew I had to have it.  So much so that we drove into town for lunch and to get extra cash since she did not take credit.  It is Shetland top (all fibers combed in the same direction, whereas roving has the fibers more random, see this post for a definition), with 3 colors of natural Shetland put together in a single grouping, from Psalm 23 Farm.  She had saved the skirting around the neck for 2 years to get enough of each of the different naturally colored fibers.  I bought almost a pound of this (so soft…):

And, I had to get a bit of this combination also.

Not to be missed also was the Fiber Optic booth, you know I love her colors.  Initially I was drawn to this color, Leap Day (80% Merino, 20% silk), and when I found out it was a limited edition dyed on Leap Day and not to be repeated, I knew it was for me.

And this Robin’s Egg Batik on BFL as a coordinate.

And so as not to forget Dan, this beautiful handmade twig ball with fiber for the birds in nest-building.  It is now gracing the Magnolia tree and the birds are already pulling out fiber.

More from our trip tomorrow, too much for one posting.