Basket bombing

You have most likely heard of yarn bombing, covering a tree or other urban object with knitted fabrics.  In the local Arts District, a local artist, Karen Gubitz of Woven Earth created baskets for these two trees just outside the gallery where she has an amazing exhibit.  I had watched this installation going up (I walk right by it on my way to my local knit night), and was reminded of it by Tricotreat’s blog post, check it out for some great in-progress photos.

On June 9th I have signed up for a woven trellis building class through the local Park District at our amazing little conservatory, and I had a suspicion that it was the same artist.  I was very excited to find out that I am right.  Now, I am debating also taking her 4 week basket making class.  If you live in the area, you should definitely attend this show at Janice Elkin’s gallery on Lombard & Harrison.  One of the best local shows I have seen.  I wish that I had both the money and space for one of her art objects.

On the knitting front I received my May installment from the Knitteratus sock club by Janel Laidman. The yarn is from  Little Red Bicycle (80% BFL, 20% nylon), color: Heliotropium, another fun project bag, stitch markers and note card.

The club always features a pattern and a mystery project.  The main pattern this month is a shawl that was shown knit out of this yarn.  I have chosen to save the club yarn for the mystery socks and knit the shawl out of this handpsun, which is a Fiber Optic yarn from her pencil rovings.  You can see more on my previous posting about this yarn.

Here are both wound up and ready to knit.

And the first section of the shawl complete.