Weekend knitting

We drove to Detroit this past weekend for a party, and when I was not driving, I got quite a bit of knitting done.  First I finished the Little Wing shawl by Janel Laidman, which was the featured pattern in the Knitterati club this month.  I chose to use some of my own handspun, which was from a Fiber Optic pencil roving called Honeysuckle Rose.  I had exactly 400 yards, the pattern yarn was only 410 so I thought that I would be good.  First, my yarn was a bit uneven, hopefully I have gotten better since spinning this.  The pattern called for 12 repeats of the lace section, I was able to get 10 1/2, and only had 10 inches of yarn left.  I was calculating how far I could go with my yarn and I maximized it.  This will be just a scarf, and I think that I will put it in the gift pile.  I have it soaking right now, and will block it out later this afternoon.

The other project that I made progress on is a mystery sock also by Janel from this months club patterns.  I chose to use the club yarn, Little Red Bicycle, that came with the shipment.  The first clue on both socks is almost complete, and the second clue came out on Friday.  I am anxious to get to that as it starts to become very interesting.

While in Detroit, in addition to seeing the many great new friends that I made thanks to Judy, Bob took us to the Eastern Market on Saturday morning.

What an amazing place, I had not been there since college whcn it had become a bit seedy and unkempt.  A group has been restoring all of the sheds and it is beautiful, vibrant and packed with produce, flowers and people.  Bob took this photo of Dan and I and in the background you can see the interior of one of the beautifully restored buildings.