Socks and Spinning

It seems that all I have been working on lately is spinning and socks. Having a new sock yarn and patterns come every month does not help the issue any.  And now I want to add basketry to the mix…

First off, spinning.  I finally finished plying this yarn.  The fiber is from Into the Whirled, and was part of the February/March SAL.  I am a bit behind on this spin-along thing as you can see.  Those 2 months were a blur to me, and I just could not get much done.  This is a 3-ply with 2 plys of the color Delectably Delicate, polwarth/silk and one of the coordinating blue.  I have a bit of the variegated color left, and a braid of the pink coordinate to spin up.  I will ply the remainder of the main color with 2 plys of the pink, and then have a 3 ply pink coordinate also.  There are 880 yards of 3-ply here, and with the other coordinates, I do think that I have enough to make a simple sweater!!!!

And on the sock front I am still working on the February socks, Hibernia, from Knitterati sock club, yarn from.  There are a massive amount of cables and many directions happening in these socks, so it is taking FOREVER.  Kelly green is not my color, but with the amount of work that has gone into them thus far, I will not be gifting these.  It is Mad Color by Fiber Arts, the color is Emerald Green (80% Superwash Merino, 20% nylon), 420 yards, 4 oz.

Clue #2 on the May Mystery socks is finished, and I hope to complete the rest within the next day or two.  I love this pattern, just not sure that it is my color.  These will probably be added to the gift pile, and I will reknit a brighter pair for myself.  This yarn is from  Little Red Bicycle (80% BFL, 20% nylon), color: Heliotropium, and is proving to be yet another great sock yarn.

As if I did not have enough sock knitting to do, the June installment from the CookieA club came today.   I love this month’s patterns, both of them.  I will make one out of this colorway for myself, and the second pattern will be perfect for socks for Dan using some brown handspun that I made specifically for him.  Yet another yarn base that I have not tried from Plucky Knitter, it is Primo which is merino/cashmere/nylon; colorway is Vintage Icebox.