Echo Flower Shawl

Please excuse another clothesline model.  I should have taken photos when my daughter was home a couple of days ago.

This is the Echo Shawl pattern, a free pattern on Ravelry.  It has a few nupps at the bottom, they no longer scare me, in fact I have embraced them.  Originally I had wanted more of the green at the bottom, but had to content myself with the look of a green “dipped” edging.  I had already ripped the entire border back twice (40% of the knitting each time).  Now I have a bit of the green to add to some mittens one day.  This fiber was my first gradient spin, I loved the colors and wanted to wait until my spinning could do justice to the fiber.  While knitting it up I noticed lots of irregularity, I have gotten much better since last fall when this was spun.  It has been hanging in my craft room, and the colors were calling out to me this spring.


Pattern: Echo Shawl
Pattern Source: Free Ravelry pattern by Jenny Johnson Johen
Yarn: Handspun from Fiber Optic merino/silk gradient.  Color: Blush to Celery
Needles: US 5
Date Started: 6/14/12
Date Finished: 7/3/12
Finished Dimensions: 30″ tall, 66″ wide

Modifications:  I added several repeats of the main pattern until I had used up more than half of the fiber (16 I think).  Then started the border,  & after the end, added another repeat of the flower petal, 2 rows of stockinette, and then a self-designed row with nupps, ending with the suggested bind-off.  This actually worked out great, as it pulled the V from the border nupp area out nicely when blocked.  I would repeat these changes again if I were to knit it.