First Sock Syndrome

 

Second Sock Syndrome is a complaint of many sock knitters.  They seem to be anxious to try out a new pattern, and knit the first sock up, only to have the second appear less interesting to knit, and it languishes.  That was never a problem for me, as I was either anxious to finish a quick knit, or had conquered the complexities of a more difficult pattern and the second sock seemed easy by comparison.  Lately I have a new problem however, I seem to be starting and not finishing any first socks.  There is a good reason for all, but bothersome none-the-less.

 

The beautiful blue socks are from the Knitteratus Scok Club by Janel Laidman, I love the pattern, the twisted rib on the bottom of the foot is so squishy and comfortable.  Almost done with sock #1 of theses.  The green pair is from the same club, a February installment.  I could not travel with these socks and follow the pattern, so they remained at home and got abandoned when I needed the needles for a pair of traveling knitting socks (ie, a less complicated pattern), and they sit dangerously off needles, and without any stitch holders to hold them in place.  The lime green pair is from the CookieA sock club, and while the pattern is interesting and different from anything I had tried, it broke one of my precious Lantern Moon needles, and I switched to metal.  I am now waiting on some Signature needles to finish these up.

I have never had this many started socks before.  And lastly, there is the pair of CookieA socks, using some handspun yarn.  These will be for my husband, but I could not finish them while away, as I needed to get reinforcing thread for the toes.  Hope to finish these up soon.