Color Attraction

 

As if I needed another project!  I was in Northern Michigan with my sister a week ago, and she wanted me to go with her to the quilt store to pick out fabric for a headboard.  I was not on the lookout for a new project at all, but fell in love with these colors, it all started with the large flower print.  Having seen Moda fabrics in other people’s quilts for quite some time, I was drawn to their bright colors and grouping of patterns under a color banner.

 

Finding a pattern was the next step, the owner of the store suggested the pattern Take Five, which incorporates 5 patterned fabrics cut together in different square and rectangle sizes.  It is a very simple pattern (says 5 hours to complete), not what I would normally choose, but I am interested in the play of colors more than any intricacies in the pattern block.  I think that I will tackle this in a couple of weeks when I have time alone on the weekend.

Of course, to make the pattern easy, I needed another tool.  An 8 1/2″ wide ruler to quickly cut the squares.