A tale of 2 sock yarns

When I first started spinning I had dreams of making fine yarn for lace knitting, fair isle and socks.  My abilities were not as quick to develop as my ambitions.  After a few months of spinning, I was confident enough to take some fiber from Socks That Rock, and spin for sock yarn.  Then I tried to knit socks with it.  So, it has languished in my spinning punishment pile for quite some time.  I have recently started going back to those early yarns to use them up in quick to knit winter outerwear.  And these came to mind for some fingerless mitts for the cooler dog-walking days.

I have developed a new appreciation for some of the earlier, less than perfect spins.  The pattern is my own improvisation.

And I recently completed knitting these socks for Dan.  The fiber was spun by me, from Fiber Optic. It is a pencil roving, and a dream to spin with. It was spun with the intention of making socks for Dan, and then when I saw this pattern in the CookieA sock club, I knew that it was a perfect marriage.  My spinning is much finer a year later, and while not perfect, I am very proud of it.  They are incredibly soft socks, superwash merino and silk, so I added some reinforcing thread to the toes for wearability.

Pattern: Reykjavik
Pattern Source: Cookie A’s Sock Club 2012, June pattern
Yarn: handspun from Fiber Optic pencil roving, color: Black Coffee
Needles: US 1
Date Started: 9/?/12
Date Finished: 10/19/12
Finished Dimensions: Men’s size large