Zebras Again

myimage.jpeg

I finally finished the Zebra sweater and dress for my niece Riley. It had sat unfinished for quite some time waiting for steeking, which is always a bit unnerving regardless of how many times that I do it. You spend all this time knitting a complicated fair ilse colorwork, to then take scissors to and cut it in half.

myimage.jpeg

myimage.jpeg

myimage.jpeg

The biggest advantage is that all those ends do not have to be woven in.

The sleeves are more difficult, as they need to be the same depth. I put a black yarn in the center of the sleeve steek, counted the stripes and added a pin to know where to stop.

myimage.jpeg

myimage.jpeg

I love the soft pink and orange stripes that I chose for this sweater. The orange is a tribute to my brother’s favorite color, softened down for a little girl. The zebra stripes give it some pizzazz.

myimage.jpeg

Waiting for a little girl to play in it.

myimage.jpeg

Pattern: Zebra Striper
Pattern Source: Dale of Norway Pamphlet #8101
Yarn: Baby Ull by Dale of Norway
Needles: US 1 & 2
Date Started: 4/8/10
Date Finished: 12/30/12
Finished Dimensions: 3 Years old