Souvenirs

During our recent trip to Japan I was on the hunt for Japanese knitting books, particularly the pattern books. Trolling the bookstore around the corner from our hotel in Kyoto and in Tokyo I was able to score some. I did visit one knitting store, the yarn was all on cones, I don't need any more yarn, and their book selection was not the best.

The Faroese shawl that I started in Japan continues on. I had to rip back a major section, without a lifeline in place, and that set me back. I am knitting this from a PDF on my iPad. Unfortunately, this pattern is locked somehow, which will not allow me to mark my place in the pattern. It is getting a bit confusing, I have not had this problem with sock patterns (the only other type that I have tried). I was able to use JDKnit PDF reader program to at least turn the charts around so that they all face in the same direction. Any input from tech-savy knitters would be greatly appreciated.

This yarn is a handspun gradient from Fiber Optic. I am quite pleased with my spinning, it is a lace weight, 1250 yards for 8 ounces. The bigger color changes should start happening soon