Slow and Steady

Slow but steady progress on this shawl, Ice Fantasia by Anne Hanson. The last of 3 pattern designs on the main body of the shawl require doing lace work on the reverse side. I am not a fan of this, it is just not intuitive for me. I had purchased the pattern to have on my iPad, but had to print out the center section and this last repeat, as this PDF is locked, and therefore my PDF marking tools are not working. I am getting in the hang of it though.

The bigger of my 2 skeins of the handspun is finished now, I might have the unusual problem of more yarn than I need. For this project I really want to use all of the skeins to get the full color repeats. Normally I would weight the yarn before and after a row to try and gauge how much yardage I will need at the end to finish up. Being away from home, I did not bring my scale, so therefore will put in a lifeline and start the knitted cast off edging. First 15 more rows in this pattern, and we will see how much of this new cake I have used up.

The colors here are very close to another shawl which was pale green to yellow to a light orange. The turquoise color is really needed to give this shawl a distinct appearance from the other. I am starting to wonder just how many handspun, hand knit shawls one person can need… That theory will be tested shortly.