Memories

IMG_1505

This shawl was completed last week, after I got home from Michigan, and finally settling down to my new normal.  The past 2 1/2 years have been traveling to Michigan, first to be with my good friend Judy as she succumbed to ALS, then supporting my Mom who broke her femur the day that Judy passed, subsequently contacting an infection in her knee that she was never able to overcome. I am happy that my life and work allowed me to be there often and when needed for both of these special people.

This shawl started in the late winter as beautiful hand dyed gradient roving from Fiber Optic.

IMG_0931

It evolved into this beautiful yarn, 1250 yards for 8 ounces, I was very proud of this output.

IMG_1277 IMG_1276

And finally into this gorgeous shawl which I started knitting on our first bullet train ride in Japan, and worked on while sitting with my Mom, finishing up after getting back home.  It is gargantuan, 84″ across, and when the weather is not so hot and muggy, will envelop me in memories.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

IMG_1502

Pattern: Ice Fantasia
Pattern Source: Twist Collective
Yarn: Handspun from Fiber Optic roving
Needles: US 6
Date Started: 5/25/13
Date Finished: 7/7/13
Finished Dimensions: 84″ wide x 31″ deep