Heart Healthy

This shawl was knit up for a charity auction this winter to benefit Women’s Heart Health.  The yarn was donated to my friend Jane from Loopy Yarns, and she asked me to knit something up with it.  Since it was expensive yarn, with a bit of Bison in it (90% Merino, 10% Bison), I wanted a pattern to use up as much as possible.  I chose Haurni, which I had knit previously as a gift, I had 2 skeins and since the border takes about 40% of the yarn, I started the border at a convenient point after finishing the first skein.  Fun pattern, and it did not disappoint a second time.  The yarn had a very high twist to it, and was not exactly soft to knit with, akin to knitting with cotton, although it did block out nicely.  Would not be my go-to yarn for a project.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

Pattern: Haurni
Pattern Source: Free Ravelry download
Yarn: Alisha Goes Around Tracks of bison Fingering
Needles: US 4
Date Started: 8/8/13
Date Finished: 8/19/13
Finished Dimensions: 58″ wide x 29″ deep